Selly Oak PPC Cllr Nigel Dawkins

Congratulations again to Councillor Nigel Dawkins, after speaking to him earlier today he provided us with the following statement:

“It was a tremendous honour on Saturday afternoon to be picked to be the Conservative Prospective Parliamentary Candidate for the Birmingham Selly Oak Constituency. It is something that I have dreamed of doing for over 20 years.

I have to be honest I was very nervous because the Selly Oak Constituency had very courageously chosen to use the ‘Open Primary’ method of selection whereby members of the public are invited to the selection meeting with full voting rights. No other party has ever been so brave and so open with the public to actually invite them to a selection meeting to help us choose the best candidate. I also knew that, as usual, the Conservative Party were able to field 3 other candidates of exceptional quality and any of them would have been a tremendous asset to Selly Oak.

As it was I was overwhelmingly chosen by the Open Primary to fight the Selly Oak seat.

At the end of the day the audience understand that my track record is serving the communities of Bournville, Stirchley and Cotteridge as a city councillor for the last 7 years made me the best qualified person to take the Conservative Party forward in Selly Oak.

This, of course, is the easy bit. Now we actually have to win the seat. I know the University Conservative Future will have a key role to play in achieving this goal in Selly Oak and I look forward to meeting you all and working with you all in the coming months.”

2 thoughts on “Selly Oak PPC Cllr Nigel Dawkins

  1. Congratulations to Nigel, he has campaigned extremely hard in his time as councillor. I fully believe he can take it to the next level, and provide a strong challenge to Labour at the next general election!

    Best of luck!

Leave a comment