Same Sex Marriage poll results

BUCF recently conducted a short poll on support for Same Sex Marriage (SSM). The results were as follows:

For: 20 

Against: 1

So BUCF overwhelmingly support the government bill, and don’t seem to reflect the split seen in the party as a whole. I hear this is the case across CF nationally. This issue seems be more a case of young vs old rather than left vs right, a generational rather than ideological dispute. 

My own personal take is rather simple. I am a conservative because I believe in the individual, and his or her right to run their life as they see fit. Just as I want government out of the boardroom economically, so to do I want government out of the bedroom socially. My support for  same sex marriage stems from me being a conservative, not despite it. 

Leave a Reply

