Family Values

It’s that time of year again! A time for getting together and celebrating with one’s family. I have just been on the phone to Mum so that we could order Dad’s present: Who’s Who 2010. This is my father’s favourite book and not because he’s in it – he isn’t at all narcissistic – but because he’s fascinated by people. He’s definitely passed that trait on!

Waterstone’s describes this iconic book as “the internationally respected and renowned source book of information on people of influence and interest in every area of public life”, and this makes me so proud of my Dad. To come from Newport in South Wales and end up in a book listing the most influential people in the country is surely some feat. (N.B. I don’t mean any disrespect to Newport. I just think that my dad really has achieved some great things in life, especially if you consider his humble roots.)

In all areas of my life I strive to follow in my father’s footsteps  except, of course, being a man – not really my scene (!). When I was younger I always said that I wanted to have an entry in Who’s Who instead of merely being referred to as “1 d.” in Dad’s entry – that’s “1 daughter” for those of you unfamiliar with the book. Those of you who know me fairly well will know that I want to go into the teaching profession so my dreams of being mentioned in the book are looking less likely, unless I one day become headmistress of a famous school…

But on Friday, during the Big Sleepout, our very own Tim Hasker gave me some inspiration. He may have been sleep-deprived but hopefully he meant what he said. He told me that he could envisage me in politics. Can I see it in myself? Possibly – I can never rule it out because I’m passionate about this country and care deeply about current affairs. That’s what we ask of politicians, right? I also try to be hard-working and honest in everything I do, the latter being a character trait that many politicians seem to have lost touch with.

So, will I follow in my father’s footsteps to become an influential figure in this country? As in all things, que sera sera…

I hope you all have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and enjoy the holidays with family and friends.

2 thoughts on “Family Values

  1. I very much enjoyed reading this Helen and couldn’t agree more with the sentiments expressed. For me family is the bedrock of society. We are everything we are, good and bad, because of our family. I passionately believe that David Cameron’s emphasis on family will do a great deal to heal our rapidly deteriorating social fabric and make this nation great once again.

  2. Exactly. His own personal life and how he has been supported by his family throughout inspired me to write it. You’re absolutely right and I’m very glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

