Are babies the must have items of 2009 for teenage girls?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00lrh90

I was casually watching television the other night when I came across what I consider to be a very abnormal tv programme. But after hearing a conversation on the bus the other day, maybe it isn’t so strange. But the one question that popped into my mind was: when did it become normal for 14, yes 14, year old girls to consider having sex, let alone trying for a baby? The aim of the tv programme was to convince two girls that it wasn’t a wise decision to have a baby at such an early age – but I really cannot understand why they want one so early anyway! Are they at a school where sex education, and safe sex are not taught? Or is a baby “must have item of 2009”. The overall outcome of the programme was that they decided they didn’t want a baby just yet and perhaps they should wait a bit longer – however a conversation i overheard, of girls around 15, said they didn’t care they simply wanted a baby so that they could be seen as “the popular kids at school” and not to go off onto a completely other topic but one of them said she simply wanted a baby so she could get money and not have to work! To me education of safe sex and of the world have been missed by some teenage girls in this country. And how is it that we live in a country where if you get pregnant your first thought is, “when can i get my money from the government?”

7 thoughts on “Are babies the must have items of 2009 for teenage girls?

  1. Historically speaking having sex at fourteen was the norm in this country untill the Sexual Offences act of 1880, which among other things-officially outlawing homosexuals- raised the age of consent to 16.

    Currently we have the highest teen birthrate in Europe, but again historically speaking teen pregnacy is at its lowest levels now than it ever has been.

    However you do make a good point that in today’s society teen pregnacies usually lead to low achievment and state dependency. One of the problems is that proper sex education is not complulsorary in schools so not all children get it.

    Secondly i would argue that in our now secular society there is not moral pressure to abstain from sex at a young age. We as a society have increasingly sexualised the general tone of media, advertising and more generally. There are few good high profile role models for girls to aspire to beyond the sugar babes and their first pair of GHDs.

    excuse the spelling it’s late.
    R C

  2. “One of the problems is that proper sex education is not complulsorary in schools so not all children get it.”

    That’s bollocks. Govt education programmes don’t work.

  3. “Govt education programmes don’t work.”

    Tell that to the tabacco lobby. (You’re talking garbage)

  4. I think it takes more than sex education at schools though: in my view, if you want to reduce the teenage pregnancy rate, you have to make teenage girls feel loved themselves -often, they come from a turbulent home without much support and have thus “gained independence” too quickly. To solve this, you need to give people of that age some sort of ambition -you need to make them realise that they can go somewhere in life. That can form part of the sex ed programme, but I think it is more of a mindset issue that needs to be created from an early age, when children are at their most formative years. By the time you get to secondary school, it is often too late.

  5. I think that 14&&15 are really young ages to be having children, but I cant really say anything about it because one of my best friends is 15&&has a 9month old! I think when teenagers turn about 18 or 19 they can start considering having children. Im not saying they should, I’m just saying they can! My nephew is one&&I take care of him just like hes mine! So I know that if I want a kid I would be able to take care of it as long as I have a boyfriend that will help me provide for my child&&not just leave us with nothing!

Leave a Reply

