The President’s Final Word

img_5862

Last night we held our Annual General Meeting and elected a new committee to serve in the next academic year. I was hugely impressed by the record turnout, well over 40, and extremely grateful for the incredibly kind words that were directed to me personally by so many. As I said in my speech, there is a different feeling to the society today. We’re more respected, more united and more confident than we have been at any time in our recent history. That is a record of which any President can be proud. In that light I want to wish my successor, Sahar, the very best of luck. She is an exceptional young woman and it was fitting that on the 30th anniversary of Margaret Thatcher’s rise to power BUCF elected its own ‘Iron Lady’ President. I wish her and her fantastic team all the very best. They are much more than my successors, they are firm friends and I shall eagerly watch from the sidelines as they take BUCF to even greater heights. I thank you for giving me the opportunity to serve as your President, it has been a great challenge but at the same time a great honour.

img_5871

                                                                                                                   The ‘Royal’ Family of BUCF

7 thoughts on “The President’s Final Word

  1. ^
    Hope you haven’t provoked your first bit of left-wing jealousy? If so, long may it continue.

Leave a Reply

