Women and their Tramp Stamps

always

I’m aware this isn’t strictly political, and strays slightly from the recent theme of blogs, but forgive me. It’s something I am fairly annoyed about.

A few days ago The Daily Mail posted a hideous article by Liz Jones on why women shouldn’t get tattoos. She delicately and profoundly talks about them as ‘tramp stamps’, saying such utterly ridiculous things as:

They are a mark of temporary insanity, instantly turning the classiest, chicest woman into trailer trash. Not for nothing are they known as ‘tramp stamps’.”

Yes Liz. As women’s greatest goal and biggest achievement is to look classy and chic.
By the way, the picture at the top happens to by my own ‘tramp stamp’, and one of 5 I have, all very dear to me.

My main issue with this article is firstly, that Liz Jones obviously and vocally find tattoos on women hideous and distasteful, yet she does not mention once her opinion of tattoos on men. Clearly she thinks women’s duty is to look pretty and proper whilst men may do whatever they wish to their body.
Secondly, her main problem for the increasing number of people with tattoos is making them a fashion statement rather than an ‘act of rebellion’. Which presumes the only reason someone would have a tattoo would be to rebel. Not to, say, commemorate an important time in their life, or an important person, to remind themselves of the journeys and experiences they’ve been through, or infact for any other reason because it’s their own bloody body.

Whose business is it if a woman tattoos herself? We have no obligation to society to be ‘chic’ or ‘classy’.

8 thoughts on “Women and their Tramp Stamps

  1. People are scared of women doing what is seen as a traditionally male thing. The rise in female binge drinking is something you’ll see all over the headlines, despite the fact that men have done it for decades (And still do it far more than us) with no one batting an eyelid.

    And womens appearance is judged on a completley different scale to mens, even by other women as your blog points out. The fuss over Sarah Palin’s clothes compared to that over her counterpart Joe Biden’s is the perfect example. God only knows how much make up John McCain needed to make himself look vaguely alive, but no one’s commenting on that!

    Nothing wrong with blogging about this, in fact we need more people raising these issues; particuarly in the male dominated political blogoshpere. Your tattoos are part of you, and look great, wear them proud! :)

  2. Hurrah! Thank you Brigid. I had a feeling you’d be the only one commenting on this blog..
    You’re very right. Even if it’s just me on this blog stamping my feet and shouting about women’s issues, I’m going to keep doing it :)

  3. aaaahhheeemmm… there is a fallacy running around about right wing conservatives lol… Look as far as I am concerned liberty and freedom of the individual is paramount.. if they want to ‘defoul’ their bodies then let them do it. Personally I am not a fan of tatoos and I would never get one… however that is a personal opinion which I wouldn never enforce on anyone else.

  4. “despite the fact that men have done it for decades” -perhaps that should be because arther than ‘despite’.

  5. Dan, in your blog on Obama’s victory, you did refer to being liberal in a derogatory sense. I’m only working with the opinions of you I’m aware of! You’re hardly a libertarian!

  6. Hiya!. Thanks a bunch for the info. I’ve been digging around for info, but there is so much out there. Google lead me here – good for you i suppose! Keep up the good work. I will be coming back in a couple of days to see if there is updated posts.

  7. I love tattoos and don’t for a minute regret getting any of them, I’m currently getting a dragon tattoo down my left arm can’t wait to get it all done! as can only afford smallsittings at a time. My local artist is extremly good and also extremly expensive but, he’s worth it! Great site btw

Leave a Reply

